FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019


The first FIFA Women’s World Cup was held in China in 1991. It is held every four years. So far, the United States has won three tournaments, and the rest have been won by Germany, Japan, and Norway. The US team is going to be defending their title this year, after they won the tournament in 2015 in Canada. 

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup is going to be hosted in France. This year it began on 7th June and will end on 7th July. This is the first time France is hosting the tournament, and is the third European country to do so. It is also the first time that a VAR system (Video Assistant Referee) will be used for a Women’s World Cup.

If you are into betting with Betway, you will be looking forward to the even more. There is a lot to bet on with the Betway app, for instance. Each time you bet on Betway, you have a chance to win bug!

The Teams

This year, a total of 24 teams have qualified for the final tournament. For Chile, Scotland, Jamaica, and South Africa, this will be their debut in the WWC. Italy is also making a comeback after 1999. Here are all of the teams that have qualified:

  • Asia: Australia, China, South Korea, Thailand, Japan.
  • Africa: Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa.
  • North, Central Americas and Caribbean: Canada, Jamaica, United States.
  • South America: Argentina, Brazil, Chile.
  • Oceania: New Zealand.
  • Europe: France, England, Germany Netherlands, Italy, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Scotland.


The WWC will be held in 9 cities across France. The first one was held in the Parc des Princes in Paris, in which France went head-to-head against South Korea.

Here is the official list with the names of the cities and the corresponding stadiums where all 52 matches will take place:

  1. Paris – Parc des Princes
  2. Lyon – Parc Olympique Lyonnais
  3. Nice – Allianz Riviera
  4. Montpellier – Stade de la Mosson
  5. Rennes – Roazhon Park
  6. Le Havre – Stade Oceane
  7. Valenciennes – Stade du Hainaut
  8. Reims – Stade Auguste-Delaune
  9. Grenoble – Stade des Alps


The US will start playing its first match on Tuesday, 11th June, against Thailand in Reims. The teams that qualify through the knock-out rounds will be playing in the semi-finals on 2nd and 3rd July. The teams that win the semi-finals will get to play the finals on July 7th.


Until now, 8 matches have been played. So far, 21 goals have been scored, with only one red card. An average of 2.6 goals is being scored per match.

In the first match, France won against South Korea with 4-0, mush to the delight of the host country.

On Saturday, Germany won against China with 1-0 in a tough match. Spain scored 3-1 against South Africa and Norway won with 3-0 against Nigeria.

On 9th June, the Australia-Italy score was 1-2, and it has been described as a dramatic win for Italy after many years. On the same day, Brazil beat Jamaica with 3-0 and England went against Scotland to win with 2-1.

10th June was an exciting day, as Argentina claimed the first WWC point. However, their match against Japan ended in a draw.