- Thierry Henry and Dermot Gallagher believe Chelsea were rightfully awarded a penalty
- Eden Hazard felt contact in the box as Arsenal defender Hector Bellerin attempted to clear the ball
- READ MORE: Arsenal 2-2 Chelsea player ratings – Hazard and Courtois star in thriller
It’s no surprise that the debate over whether referee Anthony Taylor made the correct decision in giving Eden Hazard and Chelsea a penalty has continued.
It was certain that the Sky Sports’ panel would discuss this situation as well as other big calls the referee had to make on the night.
Jack Wilshere who was perhaps lucky to still be on the pitch after he went down despite their being minimal contact in an earlier incident, broke the deadlock for the Gunners.
Just three minutes after the opener, all the action happened down the other end as Taylor pointed to the spot as Hazard went down. The Belgian converted his own penalty but some are still on the fence as to whether the referee got it right or wrong.
Former Arsenal striker Thierry Henry believes that there were valid reasons for Taylor to make that call, when speaking for Sky Sports.
Henry is quoted by Sky Sports saying:
“As a striker, I would have called for a penalty. Yes, I think it’s a penalty. He doesn’t get the ball.”
Not only does a former footballer agree with the referee, but also Taylor’s former colleague in Dermot Gallagher.
Gallagher was a referee in the English top flight for 12 seasons, also stands by the conclusion made in giving Hazard the penalty.
Sky Sports quotes Gallagher saying:
“Bellerin doesn’t get the ball, and once you don’t get the ball in that situation, he’s caught Hazard on the inside of the boot and therefore he’s duty bound to give a penalty.”
Perhaps Hazard did go down in a theatrical manner. However, for a player that gets plenty of challenges on him, the Belgian will do everything he can to influence the referee.
This controversy shouldn’t take away what was a brilliant game of football between two fierce rivals.